Neva’s Alopecia Story.

Hi, my name is Neva, I’m 8 years old and happy to share my Alopecia story!

I love being bald, it has taught me how to be brave, strong and resilient. Alopecia has become my superpower!!
Some days can be a bit tough, kids can be mean, and the stares can hurt my feelings at times, and I don’t like it when people think I’m unhealthy. I am very grateful that I am not sick. I’m a fit and healthy girl with no hair!  It’s ok to be different, I am PROUD to be different. It’s also cool to say that  “my immune system is SO strong that I rarely get sick and it kicks the hairs out of my body“. I also don’t have to worry about nits or knots ha!

My favourite things to do are, swimming, riding my mountain bike, running and dancing.
Dancing is my favourite! Dancing along to the music is my happy place. I’ve been dancing since I was 3 but I took a break for a year after my hair fell out when I was 4 as I felt uncomfortable getting up on stage and dancing in front of a big audience. It was a little upsetting that I couldn’t wear tiaras like all the other girls.
But after watching my mum dance at her concert, at a different studio I thought just like Pink… I’m NEVER gonna NOT dance again!” Ha! So I joined TMP Dance Studios with Mum and took up Jazz and Contemporary with my best friend and I’ve never thought of giving up dancing again.

Thank you to AAAF for sponsoring me. I am proud to raise awareness about Alopecia, and I am even more proud to show the world that having no hair doesn’t stop you from doing the things you love, wildly dancing!

Love Neva xoxo

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑