Abigail – Sponsorship Update

A lot has happened this year thanks to my amazing scholarship from the AAAF to allow me to continue to explore my dance. I dance at The Performance Company located in Morley right next to the Morley rolerdrome. The Performance Company celebrated 35 years of operating this year. They have a wide range of different dance genre including Tap, Hip-Hop, jazz, lyrical, acro and more! The dances I do are hip hop, tap and jazz.

The AAAF sponsorship has allowed me to compete at 2 dance competitions this year and they were both highly successful. At the first competition my troupe came first in hip hop. One of the biggest things I have done this year is perform live on telethon2023.It was amazing because I got to dance with all my friends and met plenty of famous people such as fatcat, Nik Naitanu. I danced with a fantastic little 8-year-old singer Amily. I would never have gotten to do any of these amazing opportunities if I had never got the AAAF scholarship for dance this year in 2023.

The most recent dance performance was my dance company’s end of year showcase held at the crown theatre here in Perth. Every year The Performance Company has an end of year showcase featuring all the different age groups from 6 and under to the seniors. All the group dances are performed for the audience watching us. I performed 6 dances overall including 2 jazz,2 hip hop,1 tap and the finale. The dance school has also embraced my alopecia–by hosting a crazy hair day. The confidence that dance has brought me, can also be seen in the school citizen award that I won at my Year 6 graduation from primary school. Whilst I am sad to be leaving primary school–they have been wonderfully supportive–hosting a crazy hair day each year possible. With the AAAF sponsorship I have been able to follow my dreams and dance this has helped me to develop confidence to be looking forward to high school.

Abigail was a part of our sponsorship program – you can also participate! Go here to learn more http://aaaf.org.au/sponsorship-program

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑