Jamie – Sponsorship Update

Hi, my name is Jamie and I have alopecia universalis.


I was first introduced to the A A A F (short for Australian Alopecia Areata Foundation ) in 2021 looking for a support group to get more insight into the extent of this condition and the number of people who have it I have to say it did surprise me when they contacted me about the sponsorship for learning scheme, I didn’t think there was anything they could help me with as I have many hobbies and interests. Never in my wildest dreams did I think that I would be learning to fly. Having worked in the industry of building aircraft for many years in Scotland it is with great thanks to the Foundation I have now started on my journey of learning to fly, which for me has been an absolute dream come true the feeling I am getting from this is like nothing I have experienced before and is super exciting and incredibly enjoyable and satisfying, I feel very lucky to have had this opportunity.

My instructor is a chap named Franc and he has been very patient and helpful with me from the classroom based activities and the theory and the explanation of how the aircraft operates, pre start checks and flying controls. The AAAF sponsorship program has allowed me to realise my goal and begin my dream of flying. Don’t think I will be flying any airbus in the near future but hey ho who knows, I would love to fly helicopters to the oil rigs for a living, but maybe I am a bit old for that now!!

Having alopecia has not hindered me in anyway in any activities in my life, I just wear a hat a little more than others would to keep off the sun and to protect my head I hope others can move forward and full fill their dreams I certainly am living my life to the fullest.


Thank you so very much to the A.A.A.F.

***

Jamie was a part of our sponsorship program – you can also participate! Go here to learn more http://aaaf.org.au/sponsorship-program

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑